Dual Battle Of The Boardriders National Champions

Snapper Rocks Surfriders won Series 2 of the Original Source Australian Boardriders Battle for a second successive year at Cronulla. The defending champions from Queensland were on top of the leaderboard heading into Day 2 and maintained their consistency as a series of threats fell by the wayside. Despite finishing second in the last event of the day in the teams’ relay division, Snapper had enough points to take the overall title home again.

The powerful Snapper Rocks lineup consisted of: Joel Parkinson, Mitch Crews, Mitch Parkinson, Reef Doig, Holly-Daze Coffey Sheldon Simkus, Quinn Bruce, Jay Phillips, Wayne Bartholomew (coach) and Lorraine Bryant (coach). “Thanks very much for another amazing event down here,” said Snapper Rocks captain Jay Phillips. “We love coming down here, we love the locals and enjoy the atmosphere with all the clubs. “To our team, we can’t really do it without all the great people and our top gun Joel Parkinson put on a great show for us to stay in the game. “We don’t bring many supporters down but we come down with pride and honour and to all our supporters at home at Snapper Rocks we love them and we’re bringing it home. This is what I live for. I love club surfing.”


Parkinson said the club was extremely proud to be taking home the title back to Queensland. “It’s one thing to be Australia’s best club once, but to do it twice is something to cherish forever. See you next year for three times hopefully.”